July 20, 2023

Exploiting Crypto for Profit?

Alpha Vantage Coin (AVC) was a token created by the company Alpha Vantage, known for providing market and financial data for public companies. A few years back, they launched AVC as a utility token which allowed holders to vote on the company’s roadmap and gain access to a special API.

The AVC token could be obtained in various ways, the most reliable of which was by completing a three-question quiz. Correct answers would reward participants with 50 AVC directly into their account on the website (not their wallet), and the reward would double if the participant already held AVC in their wallet.

The AVC tokens could be transferred from the website to your personal wallet at any time, but due to transaction costs, it was generally more economical to wait until reaching a specific balance.

Interestingly, there didn’t seem to be any tracking on the number of accounts one could hold. I created approximately 25 accounts, each loaded with 1 AVC. I developed a simple script that stored the quiz answers using tampermonkey. This allowed me to quickly log into each account, answer the quiz, and log out.

After reaching a certain threshold, and noticing a decline in AVCs price (https://info.uniswap.org/#/pools/0x08c119404dddcce48182441fd1316ba02b2731ec), I began to withdraw my tokens gradually over the following months. This caused a slight drop in the price each time.

I tried to find similar projects, but unfortunately, none seemed worth my time. Since the AVC price has dropped so low to the point where its not worth it anymore, I thought I’d share my experience.


Previous post
Illegal Life Pro Tip: Want to ruin your competitors business? ILPT: Want to ruin someone else’s business? Start paying scammers to use stolen credit
Next post
Support Your Foundation My GitHub account hosts more than 60 projects. I would estimate that 90% of these are built using the same handful of
Share this post if you enjoyed it :)
Subscribe to my newsletter to get notified of new posts
Follow Me On Twitter